What do you intend to do with the signatures that will be collected for your cause?
After consulting our legal counsel we decided to send the signatures collected for our cause together with a letter of complaint to the following institutional entities and persons:
- The President of the Greek Parliament
- The Members of the Greek Parliament
- The General Secretariat of the Greeks Abroad of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs
- To the Greek Government (Prime Minister)

About I Cannot Vote
I Cannot Vote is a campaign aiming to raise awareness of the fact that the Greek State does not provide its expatriate citizens with the option to vote from abroad in the Parliamentary elections, and also apply political pressure to the Members of the Greek Parliament.

Our initiative is completely independent from political parties or groups.

About us
We are a group of Greek citizens, who oppose to the fact that we are not allowed to vote from abroad because:
- We consider voting a fundamental democratic right.
- We strongly believe that the Greek citizens who are entitled to vote in the Parliamentary elections of their country, should also be allowed/be provided with the option to vote from abroad.
- It is required by the Greek Constitution and specifically by the Article 51 § 4.

Article 51 § 4
“Parliamentary elections shall be held simultaneously throughout the Country. Matters pertaining to the exercise of the right to vote by persons living outside the Country may be specified by statute, adopted by a majority of two thirds of the total number of Members of Parliament. Concerning such persons, the principle of simultaneously holding elections does not impede the exercise of their right to vote by postal vote or by other appropriate means, provided that the counting of votes and the announcement of the results is carried out when this is also carried out across the Country.”

How feasible is it for the current status to change?
It is feasible, since the legal framework exists. The only thing the Greek State needs to do is to put the Article 51 § 4 in effect.

What happens in other European countries?
23 out of the 27 EU member States and 37 European countries provide their citizens with the option to vote from broad. These countries are:
Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Moldova, Monaco, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, “the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia”, Turkey, Ukraine and the United Kingdom.

When was the last time Greek citizens were allowed to vote from abroad for the parliamentary elections of their country?
The answer is 1862. That was the first and last time expatriate Greek citizens were entitled to vote in parliamentary elections from their place of residence.